• Home
  • Agric
  • Sci & Tech
  • Health
  • Environment
  • Hausa News
  • More
    • Business/Banking & Finance
    • POLITICS
    • Entertainments & Sports
    • International
    • Investigation
    • Law & Human Rights
    • Africa
    • ACCOUNTABILITY/CORRUPTION
    • Hassan Gimba
    • Column
    • Prof. Jibrin Ibrahim
    • Prof. M.K. Othman
    • Defense/Security
    • Education
    • Energy/Electricity
    • Entertainment/Arts & Sports
    • Society and Lifestyle
    • Food & Agriculture
    • Health & Healthy Living
    • International News
    • Interviews
    • Investigation/Fact-Check
    • LAW & HUMAN RIGHTS
    • Oil & Gas/Mineral Resources
    • PRESS FREEDOM/JOURNALISM/PR
    • General News
    • Presidency
  • About Us
    • Contact Us
    • Board Of Advisory
    • Privacy Policy
    • Ethics Policy
    • Teamwork And Collaboration Policy
    • Fact-Checking Policy
    • Advertising
  • Media OutReach Newswire
    • Wire News
  • The Stories
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Trending
  • Kano says cattle routes cut farmer-herder clashes
  • Farmers warn of livestock crisis as costs soar
  • Soludo reaffirms Anambra’s pharmaceutical leadership
  • Sanusi to Tinubu: “Stop branding poverty critics as government enemies”
  • Sokoto APC rally: NUJ seeks DSS accountability after personnel attack on member
  • “Why drug traffickers should be killed” – Emir of Daura
  • Modern abattoirs key to livestock sector growth, Minister says
  • NICRAT launches second phase of cancer screening programme in Kwara
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube
AsheNewsAsheNews
  • Home
  • Agric

    Kano says cattle routes cut farmer-herder clashes

    November 4, 2026

    Farmers warn of livestock crisis as costs soar

    November 4, 2026

    Modern abattoirs key to livestock sector growth, Minister says

    November 3, 2026

    IAR scientists secure $948,678 in climate research grants for Nigeria

    November 3, 2026

    Farmers seek relief from soaring poultry costs

    November 3, 2026
  • Sci & Tech

    Bitget wallet launches virtual card in Nigeria

    November 3, 2026

    IAR scientists secure $948,678 in climate research grants for Nigeria

    November 3, 2026

    Google offers Nigerians offline AI skills training

    November 3, 2026

    Exabeam introduces modernised LogRhythm SIEM platform in Iraq

    November 2, 2026

    MTN data revenue hits N2.68trn

    November 2, 2026
  • Health

    Soludo reaffirms Anambra’s pharmaceutical leadership

    November 4, 2026

    NICRAT launches second phase of cancer screening programme in Kwara

    November 3, 2026

    i-Fitness promotes healthy living with GameFest

    November 3, 2026

    NICRAT offers free cancer screening in Adamawa

    November 3, 2026

    WHO says pathogen-sharing deal Is key to pandemic readiness

    November 3, 2026
  • Environment

    OGFTZ infrastructure supports 35,000 jobs

    November 3, 2026

    MTN invests N826m in solar, EV infrastructure

    November 2, 2026

    Borno trains 500 in waste management

    November 2, 2026

    Ghana targets district-level climate financing as flood-prone communities seek adaptation funds

    November 2, 2026

    Lagos residents seek tighter sanitation enforcement

    October 31, 2026
  • Hausa News

    UNA signs MoU to launch air Bissau in Guinea-Bissau

    June 15, 2026

    Otti plans 250-room 5-star hotel in Umuahia

    April 11, 2026

    Anti-quackery task force seals 4 fake hospitals in Rivers

    August 29, 2025

    [BIDIYO] Yadda na lashe gasa ta duniya a fannin Ingilishi – Rukayya ‘yar shekara 17

    August 6, 2025

    A Saka Baki, A Sasanta Saɓani Tsakanin ‘Yanjarida Da Liman, Daga Muhammad Sajo

    May 21, 2025
  • More
    1. Business/Banking & Finance
    2. POLITICS
    3. Entertainments & Sports
    4. International
    5. Investigation
    6. Law & Human Rights
    7. Africa
    8. ACCOUNTABILITY/CORRUPTION
    9. Hassan Gimba
    10. Column
    11. Prof. Jibrin Ibrahim
    12. Prof. M.K. Othman
    13. Defense/Security
    14. Education
    15. Energy/Electricity
    16. Entertainment/Arts & Sports
    17. Society and Lifestyle
    18. Food & Agriculture
    19. Health & Healthy Living
    20. International News
    21. Interviews
    22. Investigation/Fact-Check
    23. LAW & HUMAN RIGHTS
    24. Oil & Gas/Mineral Resources
    25. PRESS FREEDOM/JOURNALISM/PR
    26. General News
    27. Presidency
    Featured
    Recent

    Kano says cattle routes cut farmer-herder clashes

    November 4, 2026

    Farmers warn of livestock crisis as costs soar

    November 4, 2026

    Soludo reaffirms Anambra’s pharmaceutical leadership

    November 4, 2026
  • About Us
    1. Contact Us
    2. Board Of Advisory
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Ethics Policy
    5. Teamwork And Collaboration Policy
    6. Fact-Checking Policy
    7. Advertising
    Featured
    Recent

    Kano says cattle routes cut farmer-herder clashes

    November 4, 2026

    Farmers warn of livestock crisis as costs soar

    November 4, 2026

    Soludo reaffirms Anambra’s pharmaceutical leadership

    November 4, 2026
  • Media OutReach Newswire
    • Wire News
  • The Stories
AsheNewsAsheNews
Home»General News»Malabu oil, 6 other coys have no records with SCUML – Witness
General News

Malabu oil, 6 other coys have no records with SCUML – Witness

Abdallah el-KurebeBy Abdallah el-KurebeSeptember 11, 2020No Comments4 Mins Read
Share
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email

A first prosecution witness in the trial of Malabu Oil and Gas Limited, and seven others, being prosecuted by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Friday told a Federal High Court sitting in Abuja, that only Megatech Engineering Limited was registered with the Special Control Unit Against Money Laundering, SCUML.

 

Megatch Engineering Limited is among the eight defendants standing trial before Justice I.E. Ekwo.

 

Others are Malabu Oil & Gas Limited, Aliyu Abubakar, A Group Construction Company Limited; Rocky Top Resources Limited; Novel Properties and Development Company Limited, Imperial Union Limited and Carlin International Nigeria Limited.

 

They were arraigned on Tuesday, September 8, 2020 on 67 amended count charges, bordering on money laundering to the tune of $875,740,000.

 

At the resumed hearing of the case on Thursday, prosecution counsel, Bala Sangha, presented the first prosecution witness, Temitope Erinomo, a public servant who works with the Special Control Unit against Money Laundering (SCUML) of the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment.

 

In his testimony before the court, Erinomo disclosed that, upon investigation, they found out that it is only the fourth defendant : Megatech Engineering Limited that is registered with SCUML.

 

“Between December 31, 2019, and January 24, 2020, we received series of letters from the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC in my office, requesting for information about the defendants.

 

“The letters sought among other things, to know the compliance status of the companies, with the relevant section of the Money Laundering Prohibition Act 2011 (As amended) and the letter also requested for additional information that we may find useful to the Commission in respect to the on-going investigation.

 

“On receipt of the letter, we searched through our institution’s database, we found out that these companies have not made declaration of their activities to the ministry, and we also found out that they have not filed a report to the ministry and also to the EFCC.

 

“We also found out that, in respect to one of the defendants, that , there were several violation of statutory reports that were not reported and in a specific case, we have an account of single lodgement of $360,000, which was not filed, that was made into the account of one of the defendants domiciled with Guaranty Trust Bank( GTB) which was not reported.”

 

Malabu Oil & Gas Limited and the other companies being tried by the EFCC, are classified as Designated Non-Financial Institutions( DNFIs).

 

They are required to be registered with SCUML and their operations are expected to be regulated by the Unit. Erinomo explained that; “DNFIs means Designated Non-Financial Institutions, and this means, businesses that are designated under Section 35 of the Money Laundering Prohibition Act, 2011. They are Designated, based on the fact that they pose certain Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Risk to the economy and the bases for such designation, is the fact that these companies and businesses, were being used previously by money launderers and other criminals to carry out their activities and the fact that they are currently being used and also possess the potential to be used in the future for such activities.”

 

Based on his testimony, Sangha applied to tender documents the witness presented as exhibits before the court. They are letters from the EFCC and they were marked and accepted by the court as exhibit PW1/A1-A26.

 

The witness also explained more about Malabu Oil and Gas Limited: “When we received the letter from the EFCC, we looked at the entire charter of Malabu Oil & Gas Limited, among other

Court Malabu Oil witness
Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn WhatsApp Reddit Tumblr Email
Abdallah el-Kurebe
  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Related Posts

Sanusi to Tinubu: “Stop branding poverty critics as government enemies”

November 3, 2026

Sokoto APC rally: NUJ seeks DSS accountability after personnel attack on member

November 3, 2026

“Why drug traffickers should be killed” – Emir of Daura

November 3, 2026

Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

Kano says cattle routes cut farmer-herder clashes

November 4, 2026

Farmers warn of livestock crisis as costs soar

November 4, 2026

Soludo reaffirms Anambra’s pharmaceutical leadership

November 4, 2026

Sanusi to Tinubu: “Stop branding poverty critics as government enemies”

November 3, 2026
About Us
About Us

ASHENEWS (AsheNewsDaily.com), published by PenPlus Online Media Publishers, is an independent online newspaper. We report development news, especially on Agriculture, Science, Health and Environment as they affect the under-reported rural and urban poor.

We also conduct investigations, especially in the areas of ASHE, as well as other general interests, including corruption, human rights, illicit financial flows, and politics.

Contact Info:
  • 1st floor, Dogon Daji House, No. 5, Maiduguri Road, Sokoto
  • +234(0)7031140009
  • ashenewsdaily@gmail.com
Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest
© 2026 All Rights Reserved. ASHENEWS Daily Designed & Managed By DeedsTech

Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.